Best Free Bakery Classes Washington Near Me

Add my business

RELATED INQUIRIES:

1. Cozymeal Cooking Classes

LEAVE AN OPINION
203 reviews
Cozymeal Cooking Classes
Location
5
Price
5
Class
5
Facilities
5
Teachers
5

Address: 1300 I St NW #400e, Washington, DC 20005, United States

Schedule: Open 24 hours

Telephone: +1 202-905-2991

Guy: Cookery School



Near Cozymeal Cooking Classes:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Cozymeal Cooking Classes: what do users think?


Jeanne Liu: We took the Festival of Indian Flavors class with Chef Manjiri and it was wonderful! She explained everything and her recipe was fast and not intimidating. What we made was so delicious and I can't wait to try out one of her other classes. Do not hesitate to book one of Chef Manjiri's classes!

D H: I had my Cozymeal event today. I have never participated in an online cooking class before, and I must say it was great! My daughter and I took the class making the Chinese dumplings with Chef Li. Chef Li was great and while making the recipes really gave good information on the Chinese culture and the different types of substitutions to use in the event you are not able to get a specific ingredient. She made suggestions regarding kitchen utensils and made sure that all of us were on track with her during her instruction. My only difficulty was with the recipes being in grams and not in US measurements. It would be nice to have both listed. I live in a very rural area and this option of online cooking classes is such a welcome experience. I would definitely take another class!!

Theano Kampani: Really enjoyed having Chef Greg cook for my husband and me. Great food, and great conversation!We highly recommend Chef Greg and his Spanish dishes. The star of the menu was the dessert for us :)

T. C.: Amazing ! Very nice evening with the chef Boby, evening that we will not forget soon! The menu was delicious and it was a beautiful moment of culinary sharing with the chef. To be repeated!

Benjamin Bowden: Really enjoyed having Chef Tiffany cook for my girlfriend and me. Great food, great conversation, and a generally excellent evening. One note: she arrived 45 minutes prior to the scheduled arrival time, when nobody was home. Her early arrival was a positive, as the meal took a few hours to prepare, but Cozymeal should communicate better with the clients about true arrival time. Bottom line: Tiffany provided an excellent French meal, all cooked from scratch, with fresh ingredients. Moreover, there were leftovers! Really looking forward to my next Cozymeal experience.

Niki Holmes: We had an amazing experience with Chef Judith. Her recipes were easy; we had great company; and the Chef taught us some very useful techniques. --Plus--The food tasted so delicious!

Valerie Damond: Last night twelve members of my family experienced a truly remarkable Spanish dinner. Chef Greg presented us with a very relaxing and utterly delicious meal. Every course was beautifully displayed and clearly constructed with the best ingredients. He and his helper served us and left the kitchen immaculate. If you would like to experience an expertly crafted Spanish cuisine, I highly recommend Chef Greg.

Kathleen Norwood: This was a wonderful experience. Chef Gustavo was a delightful host and instructor He shared knife and preparation tips as well as the history of the food. The food was muy rico and we came away with many tips to make prep easier and food tastier for making a yummy paella as well as other dishes. Chef Gustavo created a welcoming, warm and relaxed evening. Thank you, Chef Gutavo!

Alison Ponzi: We had an evening full of freshly made pasta, bruschetta, and bread pudding with Chef Tiffany. I bought a KitchenAid mixer last year with the pasta attachment, and she was open to teaching me how to use it. She also worked with us on our likes/dislikes allowing us to choose a different appetizer. All in all it was a successful night with great food, company, and conversation.

Jake: This was an amazing experience. Chef Gustavo was the consummate host and instructor! He shared knife and preparation tips with us in addition to showing us how to cook an amazing 4-course meal. The food was superb and he was a great entertainer as well. Thanks so much Chef! We look forward to coming back!

2. Cookology Culinary School

LEAVE AN OPINION
35 reviews
Cookology Culinary School
Location
5
Price
5
Class
5
Facilities
5
Teachers
5

Address: 4238 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22203, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 10AM

Telephone: +1 703-433-1909

Guy: Cookery School



Near Cookology Culinary School:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Cookology Culinary School: what do users think?


Deserae P.: It was a pleasant experience. I did a dinner adult class. The entree item was shrimp risotto. I personally do not cook that much and the chef instructor made me feel great! He explained the only difference of us the professional and they cook over and over. He explained how properly cut and how to add your personal touch. I really felt confident after class. For adults you could get some nice rose. It all was very nice. I would so come again.

T. Pope: Wow. This was a great experience for my daughter. She got to go hands on and be taught and guided by trained chefs. You just don't get that from youtube videos.

Eleatia Goines: Chef Dave was great! Had patience with the newbies and gave good explanation about the meal prep. Knife lesson, seasoning your food, quick meal plan, and meat selection was a plus. The outcome of today's lesson was great. Not great as Dave but after today's lesson, he gave me the confidence to start making meals with fresh ingredients. #Dave #Tosada Thanks E

john yembrick: We purchased a certificate for a Cookology kids birthday party at our preschool auction on May 6, 2021. Our daughter’s birthday is May 4. When we contacted them on April 18 to book the party, I noticed that it expired on April 1, 2022. We contacted them by email asking if they would please still honor their donation to the preschool, even though we were a little late in contacting them, and our daughter’s birthday happened after the expiration. They replied asking for the certificate and how old my daughter was. After several follow up emails and two voice messages, their manager, Kori, called me on May 4, my daughter’s actual birthday, to say she regrettably could not honor it. I was surprised they wouldn’t be more flexible. Kori offered to redeem the certificate, but would still charge us $317 for a service fee not referenced on the certificate and for the increase in food cost. This was supposed to be a donation, not a break even endeavor. If you don't want to give, then don't. I told the manager I needed to consult with my wife, as I was very disappointed in the conversation, tone and poor customer service from this company. My wife called back to ask some clarifying questions, as she still wanted to have the party there, shortly after and was treated very poorly by Kori, who raised her voice and belittled her. I understand we contacted them after the certificate expired. That’s on us, but that is no excuse for the abysmal treatment. At the end of the day, this was supposed to be a fun birthday cooking class for kindergarteners from a preschool donation. We were really looking forward to it. Instead it turned into a contentious battle. My six-year-old daughter thought she was having her birthday party at Cookology, but we will never patron there. Just be nice. It's not hard.
Response: Wow. This is not at all what happened. We contacted you several times—from April 18 to today—we the have the emails to prove it. Unfortunately what we explained today was the value of the party was no longer the cost for the party. Prices for food and labor have skyrocketed and we simply asked if they could cover the difference which was $318. The value of the silent auction was $350 for a party of 10 kids, which they only donated $250. Making their outlay for the party only $568, where our prices start for that age group start at $65 per person. So for 10 kids they still were getting a discount. We explained so many times that we needed to cover expenses. We were not making money off of this party. We did everything we could but were met with very angry individuals who could not see our logic or reasoning.

Bryan Schonhaut: I've gone here twice - both times I did the cake decorating class and both times have been very enjoyable. Depending on the day, you may be paired with only a couple other people or 15, really depends on how popular the course is. Both times I had a solid instructor, the instructor for the smaller class was definitely more attentive but, that's understandable given the second class had closer to 15 people attending. I liked that they had a bar where you could get drinks while you cooked and the atmosphere was very laid back, fun and casual. Only grievance I have is the price. For the cake class, it was $65 and it tends to vary greatly depending on what class you're attending and what you're making. That being said, at this price, it's definitely more of a special occasion type event. That being said, it was still a ton of fun.

Jada M: Service was horrible, the instructor teaching us had limited communication and was not paying attention to us. We had to make the macaroons by our selves. They were helping everyone one else but us ours didn’t come out good because they didn’t help us. She said our macaroons were perfect and took them out early causing them to mess up. The instructor was rude and short, seems like she did not want to be there we had limited amount of hands on instruction if you want hands on instruction this is not the class for you. They show once and get irritated when questions are asked. If you are a beginner this this institution is not good for you.
Response: You showed up 45 minutes late for your class. We made the mistake of allowing you to participate. Your girls were not at all interested nor did they participate nor did you participate. The chefs and sous chef had to pretty much do everything for you. It’s still confusing as to why you would even expect us to be able to do more than we did we basically took the class for you.

Ashley Whimpey: My partner and I attended the Early Valentine's Day Italian class and it was one of the TOP TEN best things I've done in my whole life. I have always been interested in cooking/baking, but never been particularly gifted at it. Having an entire professional kitchen as well as personal step-by-step guidance (plus wine...) made this so much fun we ended the night already looking at other classes to take. I cannot recommend this experience enough!

Emily Banks: I highly recommend Cookology virtual cooking classes! My local cooking classes were canceled due to the pandemic. I was in search of a semester type class where we learned the fundamentals of cooking over the course of a few weeks. The virtual Cookology Bootcamp was exactly what I was looking for- 4 weeks, twice a week, and you make a full meal by the end of the class. It was awesome, I learned so much, and my overall cooking has improved significantly. Chef Greg was very knowledgeable and patient, and I really liked that you could ask him questions as you cook. The customer service is excellent as well, I had some cooking related questions outside of class and they were always prompt to answer. I am looking forward to the second part of this virtual boot camp, and highly recommend Cookology to anyone looking to improve their cooking skills! You don't need to be local :)

Stephanie Safro: Positive: Communication, Professionalism, Quality, ValueFun way to share an evening. Learned a few things. Made my meal and got to eat while we cooked and took the rest home. Chef Renee was a lot of fun. Food was good. Location was easy to get to with Orange line Metro. We were able to remain socially distanced for others who took same class. Would go there again.

Roshy K: I booked a Halloween treats making class for my kiddies (ages 10 and 5) on Halloween day, and loved everything about the class! My kids got to make whoopie pies, hot cocoa, and pumpkin shaped rice krispy treats. I enjoyed that each family's table was spaced out and the ingredients were all pre-measured out and ready for us. The chef instructor went at the perfect speed and ensured all were following along before moving along to the next step. And, the treats turned out super delicious!! We even had some extra whoopie pie batter that we were able to take home with us. My children have been asking to return ever since.

3. Sunflower Bakery

LEAVE AN OPINION
25 reviews
Sunflower Bakery
Location
5
Price
5
Class
5
Facilities
5
Teachers
5

Address: 5951 Halpine Rd, Rockville, MD 20851, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 10AM

Telephone: +1 240-361-3698

Guy: Bakery



Near Sunflower Bakery:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Sunflower Bakery: what do users think?


Jules Polonetsky: Lovely baked items created by very special people. Spend your money and support independence and training for the employees. Gluten free options available.

Keli Dimari: I'm truly delighted at Sunflower Bakery's mission; to me, it's admirable that people try to be kind and provide the opportunity for others to grow and refine a skill, and I understand that making a place like this bakery requires a lot of guts and a ton of grit to achieve. Even for a place with a mission, if their food isn't amazing, it isn't enough. The main reason I went today was to see if it was tasty...if it was really delicious and amazing, because all the good intent in the world doesn't make food more tasty, and I have a severely-dairy-allergic (needs epi pen) 2-year-old that I was desperately trying to find a genuinely tasty birthday cake for. I was hoping this bakery would be yummy enough that it could become the bakery I get stuff from, for my extremely allergic and pretty durn picky kiddo. I purchased several items, just to get a baseline of things. It is a great little bakery, with a ton of but free, dairy free, and vegan options. The lemon bars and chocolate crackle cookie are excellent; I tested one chocolate cookie in my car, at a stoplight, and then pulled over at a gas station to eat four more. The chocolate cracked cookies are that good. They are extremely chocolatey, really decadent, like a brownie corners on the outside of the cookie, and the middle of the softest brownie ever on the inside of the cookie....if it weren't for the calorie count, I could polish off the whole container by myself. These are the best soft chocolate cookies I've ever had. There were so few left, I migrated them to a ziplock bag to save space. There were about thrice as many a few hours ago. They are perfect for coffee or tea. The lemon bars are also beautifully balanced; I can totally see why they are a crowd favorite. It has a thin golden brown crust that's a tiny bit chewy and very crumbly, and a really good filling. Unlike regular store-bought, or even those found at most restaurants, the filling in these lemon bars was not overly sweet. I prefer my lemon bars a bit more tart, but I'm also the weirdo that tends to double the lemon and lemon zest in most recipes. It was really, really good. If you get one item from Sunflower Bakery, and you're not allergic to and rather like lemon, I would strongly recommend the lemon bars. The challah bread was light and fluffy and had a nice bounce to it, the tahini cookies are very crumbly but a bit salty (is that normal?), but had a good sesame flavor. The macarons were surprisingly really good, considering the filling had no dairy at all. If you didn't tell me it had no dairy, I couldn't have told you there was anything unusual; well flavored, nice chewy texture, they were beautiful and there were four of each flavor. I loved them quite a bit. The berry lemon loaf was flavorful but a bit too sweet, and not enough lemon....would've liked a little more lemon zest or a little more berry flavor. Overall was just sweet and sort of average; not bad, because fresh baked goods are generally delicious....but it could be so much more, you know? I wish it were more flavorful. I wouldn't mind if they bumped up the price by a bit or reduced the size, if it had more flavor. The only thing I got that I really didn't like was the Almond Berry cake. For me, personally, it was way too sweet/overly sugary and didn't taste enough like almond or berries. They needed to intensify one or both flavors, and could probably cut the sugar in the icing by half. As it was, it was too in-your-face-sugar-coma-ish. We didn't finish it and ended up crumbling bits of the cake into homemade ice-cream...(we just reduced the sugar in the ice-cream recipe, instead). However, that could just be me....maybe that cake is intended for young kids and just had a lot of sugar in it. I don't know. It seemed sort of out of place compared to the tastes and textures of the other items I got. Overall, loved the bakery and definitely will go back again. This is definitely the bakery I'm getting the birthday cake from, and I'm sure we will be back many more times before and after.

Barbi Wood: Found this bakery through a blog recommendation and I'm so glad I did. I live in Kansas and had my order plus two other orders shipped to Missouri and Tennessee. Everything was great from beginning to end. Ordering online was super easy, all three shipments arrived on time and in great shape. The cookies are delicious!!! I'm very pleased with my purchases.

Michael Palan: Excellent bakery with a great mission full of heart and deliciousness. It was Purim and needed hamantaschen, and luckily I stumbled upon Sunflower Bakery. Their ‘taschen were super soft and super yummy. They were better than my mother-in-law’s homemade ones. Shhhh don’t tell her. Can’t wait to return to try something new!

Jack Luxemburg: Though out of the way in an industrial part of Rockville, it is worth the trip. The baked goods are excellent even if the selection is somewhat limited. That the bakery is also a training and employment center for people with disabilities makes buying there doubly good. There are a range of products that are gluten free, vegetarian and maybe vegan.

Robert: Really terrific organization. Cakes and cookies for my daughter’s birthday were exactly as ordered, ready for pickup as promised, and were all delicious. Thanks to the team at Sunflower for helping my child celebrate.
Response: Thank you! We are glad to be a part of her celebration!

Sydnye White: Sunflower Bakery nailed the individually wrapped treats for the school faculty and staff during Teacher Appreciation Week. Muffins on Tuesday and cute cookies on Wednesday.

Mary Eva RB: I placed an order through their website, and It came perfectly and delicious.I recommend them, not only because the bakery goods also because their mission.

Paloma Bolasny: One star for their hamentashen. Their version are not hamentashen, they are cookies in the shape of a triangle. And we all know that’s not a hamentashen!

Tatiana Harris: Love baking there so much fun.

4. Baked by Yael

LEAVE AN OPINION
157 reviews
Baked by Yael
Location
5
Price
5
Class
5
Facilities
5
Teachers
5

Address: 3000 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 8AM

Telephone: +1 202-234-9235

Guy: Bakery



Near Baked by Yael:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Baked by Yael: what do users think?


Suradee Thongkiattikul: Great place to stop by after the zoo to grab a quick bite. The bagel sandwiches are around $6 and baked goods are around $4 each. Overall a decent place with vegan and gluten-free options. Nut-free and kosher if that’s also a concern for you. They had cute zoo-themed cake pops here and if you want a cute panda pop then this is the place for you. I tried their southwestern sandwich on an everything bagel and it was tasty and big enough that you’re full but not overly stuffed. I also tried their cookie bar and it was okay, though I wish I would’ve gone with their raspberry bar instead (maybe next time).

Marie Brown: Beautiful cake pops. I wanted to get a holiday gift for my mom (who already has everything) and support local business at the same time. Online order and curbside pickup were very easy.

Matthew Henry: The best hamantaschen anywhere. Impressive, both Vegan and regular. Their vegan Reuben is an amazing experience. Even if you've never had anything vegan before, try it. And, be careful, you may never eat an animal again :)
Response: Wow, thank you! We're so happy you enjoy our hamantaschen and sandwiches. We agree with you that they're quite delicious :-)

Christen Sparago: Baked by Yael is a real hidden gem. This place feels like a neighborhood bakery but has a surprisingly extensive menu (which is almost entirely vegetarian or vegan, with gluten-free options available too). Their cake pops are delicious and really cute, but the standouts for me are their bagels -- some of the best I've ever had in my life, and definitely the best I've had in DC. They're clearly handmade and always fresh. The whole staff, Yael herself included, is super friendly and there's some nice seating outside right across from the Zoo entrance. Highly recommend the next time you're walking up Connecticut or picking up a snack to take on the Tregaron trails!
Response: What a testimonial! Thank you, Christen! We are so grateful to have amazing customers like you.

Corine Sass: I buy an assorted bag of bagels and a tub of cream cheese every saturday from the Alexandria Farmer's Market and they are something I seriously can't do my week without! I love that I can just throw them in the freezer and reheat them in the mornings, making them taste fresh out of the oven every time. They are chewy (-in the best way) and soft at the same time, some of the best bagels I've had! Definitely worth a try.
Response: Corine, thank you so much for your kind words and for being such a loyal customer!

Ryan Wee Sim: TL;DR - Food is delicious and kosher, management is bitter and not-so-kosher. Vegan faire is great! Bagels are tasty, if a bit small. But the customer service was bad enough that I won't be going back. Submitted my order at 9:28am for 10am pickup. I arrive at 10:01am, to a shop with no customers, and am welcomed by the (seemed to be) manager who couldn't be bothered to look up from her computer. I inquire about my online order for 10am, she finishes her computer task, then walks to the kitchen, where I can see the person just start making my order (2 bagel sandwiches, no modifications). I say, "I was hoping to just run in and out", holding a toddler fidgeting with their mask. The manager says, "it will be right out", again barely looking up. I step outside, and return at 10:10. Still no food in hand. I mumble my frustration, but still no apology from the manager. At 10:12, the person making my order hands me two bags and says zero words. Manager is in the kitchen, waving a paper at her staff. On my way out, I hear the manager say in an agitated voice to her staff, "you don't have your own thermometers?!" I had enjoyed getting cake balls on zoo visits, but with management like I witnessed, no thank you, not ever again.

Rowan Cloud: I love this place! They have a great variety of options, including gluten and allergen free foods. The staff is very nice and incredibly helpful, and I always feel welcomed coming in here. The decor gifted to them from the zoo across the street are an added bonus- so cute!

Pete Freeman: Typically coming to a bakery at the end of the day is a mistake, and while I missed the morning brownies there were plenty of cake pops and they were excellent! I also want to counter some of the reviews of staff behavior; the woman who helped me was friendly and quick. I’m impressed!

Toby Barg: Can’t speak for the in person experience, but we ordered breakfast and snacks to our hotel for our group and it was nicely presented, delicious, on time. Warm bagels snd cream cheese and other options. Highly recommend the Duffins (donuts crossed with muffins) which were fresh, soft and very delicious (maple glazed and chocolate glazed were our favorites).

Allison F: Now that I am back from out of town, I will share the details of my experience. Customer service was extremely lacking. Employee did not get my name correct despite repeating it twice. I figured she got the 2nd attempt, as she did not ask me again or clarify how to spell it. Didn't think "Allison" was that difficult. As a result, my order got lost and I did not receive my food for a while because they and I did not recognize the name they were calling. Once I received my "small" lox bagel, it was disappointingly ungenerous and low on the portion with the lox, not worth the pricey $10. My partner had multiple grounds in the bottom of his coffee that he was irritated with and the cake pop was "ok". In my opinion, the commercial ones Starbucks sells are better, so we wished we just went to the one next door. We were on a time limit getting to the zoo, so this sadly resulted in this review.
Response: We're sorry you didn't enjoy your visit, but we wish you had shared your feedback with us. Please email info@bakedbyyael.com so we can learn more.

5. Sticky Fingers Diner

LEAVE AN OPINION
1401 reviews
Sticky Fingers Diner
Location
4.4
Price
4.3
Class
4.3
Facilities
4.3
Teachers
4.3

Address: 406 H St NE, Washington, DC 20002, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 10AM

Telephone: +1 202-367-9600

Guy: Bakery



Near Sticky Fingers Diner:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Sticky Fingers Diner: what do users think?


Alyssa Miron: I get overwhelmed when I find a vegan place with this many amazing options. The chick’n tenders were so good paired with a salad, and I took home some tofu “egg salad”. I’ll be back for a Buffalo chick’n wrap and all the pastries. This place is a gem!!! Very attentive service too.
Response: Thank you, Alyssa!

Stacey Maresco: Loved the atmosphere of this place! Definite diner vibes — but 100% vegan food! We ordered a salad, the Mac & cheese and the crazy bones brownie (which was also GF). We liked the food and service was so so. Only thing that would have made this better was more attentive servers. Vibe was great (so was the dessert!)

Larry “Big Schlim” Mcleod: There’s this new’ish Vegan spot on H street in N.E. D.C. The moment I heard about it, I made plans to go!! I went, they have REALLY tasty food, & I ate well. MY experience however…left me feeling unwelcome & slighted (see my customer service segment). . Where I am: @stickyfingersdiner . Location Reviewed: 406 H St., N.E. Washington D.C. . Menu Includes: All Day Breakfast; French Toast, Pancakes, Potatoes, Seitan & Waffles, Impossible Sausage Croissant, Tofu, Corn “Beef” Cabbage, Vegan Calamari, Buffalo Wraps, Pasta Salads, Beyond Burger, Baked Goods, Candy, Beverages, Cocktails, & Shakes. . Items Reviewed: Their Seitan $ Waffles (with 100% maple syrup & hot sauce $14). The fried chicken like Seitan…STAMP!! Crispy & well seasoned!! The waffles were DELICIOUS! Their French Onion Soup (with crostini & smoked Violife slices $8). STAMP!! Flavorful, mild & warm!! Their Oyster Mushroom Calamari (with marinara & a lemon wedge $10). STAMP!! Fried to perfection, you may not even know that these are mushrooms!! Their Roasted Potatoes (with gravy & garlic aioli-$1, $5.75). STAMP!! Undeniably tasty, especially with the gravy & aioli!! Their Chocolate Tiramisu-$8, & Their, non-alcoholic Chai Lemon Fizz-$6). STAMP both of these items!! Delectable, moist tiramisu, & that superbly refreshing fizz!! Get these!! . Customer Service: Bluntly, I wasn’t greeted, or welcomed when I walked in. I was uncomfortably stared at after I greeted the host, I had to ask about seating & how the ordering process worked. So when the patrons that sat next to me were welcomed, asked if it were their first time there, and had the ordering process explained to them w/o asking, I was disappointed. Nobody said anything wrong to me, and I was serviced promptly, but the extra care & concern that those customers received should be standard for all customers. . Online Navigation: Simple . Parking: Rough/Metered/Enforced . Recommendations: The Soup, Potatoes, Tiramisu, Calamari, & definitely the Fizz!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️=STAMP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️➕=A.DELICIOUS ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️=DELICIOUS ⭐️⭐️⭐️=DECENT ⭐️⭐️=PASS ⭐️=NAH #Bigschlimsreviews

Linda Piccotti: All we keep saying is, "oh my God!" This is the best vegan food we have ever had! We will definitely be back here when we are visiting near D.C. again. We need one where we live, lol. Great service, friendly and accommodating staff. The biscuits and gravy, blueberry pancakes and chilaquiles we're excellent. I don't like spicy food so I was in heaven. Add hot sauce if you want more heat 😉

Harmony Hitchner: The food came out looking like an ad! Beautiful, but according to the family it was just as tasty as it looked! I didn’t get a pic of other food because it was gone before I knew it. The service was beyond amazing! Very sweet , and very helpful staff. I just wished they had more allergy friendly food. But overall, would absolutely bring friends and family back to eat there!!
Response: Thank you!

Zack Bloom: This place is unbelievable. The perogie are so good! The poutine was also shockingly great. Don’t miss the Chocolate Egg Cream (no real egg involved of course, it’s all vegan!).
Response: Zack, you are the best.

Melissa Buckingham: I ordered the chickpea steak platter and I'm sure that this entree clouded my experience. It was very underwhelming and I ate about half of it before taking it to go. The picture is the full serving. I think the potatoes lose their intended crispness because they are plated under the greens. The sauce could have also had a kick to it but again, it was underwhelming. I had high hopes for this place so if I wasn't in town from NYC then I'd consider trying a different menu item in the future.
Response: Hello Melissa! Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. We hope if you are in the area again that you give us a second chance, especially during brunch.

Linda Zh: Average to below average vegan food. The seitan “chicken” was decent but the waffle was soggy. Funfetti cake slice was dense and one-note with its sweetness. The mac and cheese was extremely disappointing - the mac was very thick and flavorless, and it was not adequately coated by the cheese sauce. When we were seated, the hostess mentioned that there’s a 20% service fee included with each order. Fine, but then there’s an additional tip section in the checkout, and the 20% option is the default option. I wouldn’t mind tipping except there’s really no service at all. You scan the QR code to open the menu and order online, and then someone brings the food to you. There’s no one to check on you or refill water. Not a good experience.

L Ram: Can we please get a Fare Well in Atlanta! I’m so thankful I had several vegan options when visiting D.C., I knew after reading reviews I had to visit Fare Well and I’m so glad I did Very small but charming diner serving breakfast all day (Wednesday – Sunday), they also have a bar for people interested in adult beverages. Saturday and Sunday they have a brunch menu. I visited late Sunday around 3pm and there was not wait but it was pretty full inside. I was dining solo and unfortunately couldn’t try too many items, I definitely wanted to try the Buffalo Cauliflower ($12) and it was SO GOOD! I cleaned the bowl and really wish I had this recipe. Its spicy whipped cashew and cauliflower dip served with soy and sheet free tortilla chips. For my entrée I ordered Chilaquiles ($13). It was very filling and a large portion, I couldn’t finish my dish. I loved all of the ingredients and thought it was flavorful but did add some hot sauce since I like my food to have a little spice. The Chilaquiles included tofu scramble, black beans, poblanos, roasted tomato rojo sauce and cilantro crema served with roasted potatoes. I also added avocado ($3). Service was okay, my food was served with a smile which I appreciate.
Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope you visit D.C. again soon, we will be here for you when you do!

Vikram Singh: One of the best vegan spots in DC. I had the Perogies with sweet potato poutine and Oreo milkshake. Everything was delicious! I’m just sad it took me this long to get here.

6. The Red Bandana Bakery

LEAVE AN OPINION
139 reviews
The Red Bandana Bakery
Location
4.3
Price
4.4
Class
4.3
Facilities
4.3
Teachers
4.3

Address: 8218 Wisconsin Ave #101, Bethesda, MD 20814, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 10AM

Telephone: +1 240-284-6523

Guy: Bakery



Near The Red Bandana Bakery:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

The Red Bandana Bakery: what do users think?


Seth Cohen: My partner has issues with dairy and egg, so, we were delighted to stumble upon Red Bandana! We originally ordered some smaller snacks and they were great. The reason for the 5 stars - is we emailed them about a birthday cake dairy/egg free birthday cake, along with a flavor and some ideas/examples we were thinking about, and just let them do their magic. Jaimie and team knocked it out of the park! She was super helpful, answering a million questions back and forth on email. Payment and pickup was a breeze. Thanks again Jaimie and Red Bandana!
Response: Thank you for all of your creative inspiration, we had so much fun with your cake!

Lily Ann: I want to take this time to sincerely thank this bakery for the wonderful work that they do. I have a daughter with multiple food allergies (egg, peanut, tree nut, soy) and Red Bandana Bakery was able to accommodate her needs. I recently ordered the 'Fruity Patootie' cake and it was the first time my daughter was able to dig into a birthday cake without us fearing that she would have a reaction. Seeing her finally be able to enjoy a cake that was not baked by me brought tears of joy to this mama's eyes. And boy did she love the cake, as did we all; It was a lovely texture and beautifully decorated!
Response: I am so happy to hear this! Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to bake for you and your family for many years to come! 💕

Emily Warren: They make so many wonderful treats and it is easy to get gluten free and vegan items or whatever you need. This bakery made my wedding cake and is still my go to place for gluten free baked goods.

Savannah Salters: The owner and her daughter are super sweet and professional. The cake wasn’t to fancy just used to reveal we were expecting our first child but decorated well. Referred here by someone and the cake was entirely to sweet. Couldn’t even eat the cake. Guest complained of the taste and I was kind of sad because I’ve been having a sweet tooth during my pregnancy.
Response: Hi Savannah! Thank you so much for your feedback, I'm glad you were happy with the service and the decorations. We will keep in mind your thoughts on the sweetness--we did make the strawberry crunch cake as a custom request for you and it is not actually on our menu so it sounds like that one will need to be tweaked if it's going to become a regular offering. Thanks again and if you'd like to reach out to me directly I'll be happy to offer you a store credit to use toward one of our signature offerings that we have taste-tested and perfected!

Andrew: Great for people with multiple food allergies. Be very careful when telling them your allergies as the color coding is very specific. One particular lady there told us that we could use blue and green but it turns out she did not hear that. My kid was allergic to egg so one of those colors was incorrect. Once you know what colors are good, you can stick with those knowing it will be fine
Response: Thank you for letting us know Andrew! Yes, all the items on our menu in GREEN are vegan, the blue items are dairy-free, and everything here is gluten-free. It never hurts to clarify allergies multiple times when ordering so thank you for taking the time to do that with us about the egg allergy—better safe than sorry!

Kim: Thank you thank you thank you! Once again you all have never ceased to amaze me with something different and new every birthday every year for me and my other half-lef! My Wonder Woman“themed” cake with the subtle red white and blue with the stars (A fun living clue I was supposed to figure out what it represented ) was a hit! Delicious vanilla and lovd the pineapple filling! You make the best gluten-free cakes around and taste is absolutely phenomenal!

Jared Alvarado: Friendly people, tasty pastries. I get to come here a few times a year and it’s always a treat to look forward to. I always get the vegan pastries, but I’m guessing the conventional ones are tasty as well.

Robert smith: Great vegan options! Loved the sugarless blondies and chocolate brownies. Good black bean burger and got. Vegan peach muffin for breakfast next day. Just wish they were open earlier as I would have visited again before my meeting! Only bottled water to drink…

Taunia Stevenson: This place is amazing! I was more than impressed with the service and blown away when I received my order! Jaimie (and staff) are the best! Did an outstanding job on my 40th birthday cupcakes! Almost didn’t want to eat them because they looked so beautiful! These were the best gluten free cupcakes I’ve had to date. I will most definitely order from this bakery again. If you have gluten (dietary) restrictions (or just want some good cakes and baked goods) I highly recommend this bakery. They also have a good menu of other gluten free eats when you visit the bakery! Outstanding!
Response: Thank you Taunia!!! We loved making your cupcakes, what a beautiful visión you had for them :)

Brad: This place is awesome and the staff are very kind. The bread is hit or miss but the pizza and sweets are INCREDIBLE. Not the cheapest but it's gluten dairy free and happy to pay a premium.
Response: Thank you Brad!

7. Dog Tag Bakery

LEAVE AN OPINION
361 reviews
Dog Tag Bakery
Location
4.6
Price
4.6
Class
4.7
Facilities
4.6
Teachers
4.6

Address: 3206 Grace St NW, Washington, DC 20007, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 7AM

Telephone: +1 202-407-9609

Guy: Bakery



Near Dog Tag Bakery:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Dog Tag Bakery: what do users think?


John Toth: Pretty good! Breakfast sandwiches were tasty. The quiche was very good. Crusty and cheesy. Coffee was as to be expected.
Response: Thanks for your review! Appreciate your support of our business and mission.

Rebecca Opiela: I loved it! The staff was super nice and efficient. The space well clean and had a nice bathroom. Everything was wheelchair accessible including the front door and bathroom. The croissant was delicious too! I sat there and read a while and had a nice time.
Response: Thank you for your 5-star rating! So glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you back again! We appreciate your support of our small business and our mission.

Alisha T: 🔥 Matcha cherry muffin with cherries inside 🔥 and their chocolate zucchini mini bread is very chocolate rich! Great loose leaf tea selection. Nice and cozy spot.
Response: Thank you for your review! So glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you back again! We appreciate your support of our small business and our mission.

Karen Laska: Love this place!! Everything is delicious, but my favorites are the chocolate zucchini bread, the egg & cheese on a honey thyme biscuit, and the chocolate chip cookies. It’s a great spot for reading or studying, and the staff members are always so nice. Highly recommend it!
Response: Thank you for your review, Karen! We really appreciate your support of our business & mission.

Austin: OVERHYPED. The bakery is certainly tasty, however it is more of a cafe. I arrived on a Sunday morning when they were not busy and purchased both a breakfast sandwich and matcha cherry muffin. The muffin was not noticeable burnt, but it was slightly over cooked as the wrapping was sticking to the muffin and was burnt. The breakfast sandwich with the honey thyme biscuit is AMAZING which earned the three stars. The lady at the register was friendly and prompt to assist me, she spoke loud and clearly; something that is rare nowadays with the masks on. It was also $19 for an egg and cheese sandwich, muffin and a small latte… with oat milk which is like 50¢… I don’t mind paying that if it’s tasty, but it wasn’t.
Response: Hello Austin! We are sorry to hear your visit didn't go as well as we would hope. We hope you'll give us another chance, and appreciate your feedback.

Charlotte Rhea: it’s delicious! such a cool bakery and i highly recommend the cinnamon bun. it was perfect!
Response: Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit, thank you for supporting our business and our mission!

greg nyhus: Lovely, patriotic themed, and inviting bakery. The coffee is outstanding and the baked goods are awesome. Cranberry-apple muffins are generous and the cinnamon rolls are a full meal. Friendly and cheerful staff make the coffee stop or breakfast a great experience. Well done!
Response: Thank you for your review and your support of our mission!

Stephanie Adams: Great service. The nice lady who always takes my order takes her time to make sure I know exactly what I’m getting and what else might be good to try. They always have little samples which are pulling me towards a whole cake 😇
Response: Thank you for your review, we're so glad to hear that you enjoy stopping by the bakery regularly! We appreciate your support of our bakery and our mission. Hope to see you again soon.

Zee MW: Great spot to grab a quick bite. Nice environment.. the folks that work there are amazing. The food is pretty good. Definitely recommended if your in the area!
Response: Thank you for stopping by! We appreciate your support of our small business and mission. We hope to see you again!

Maritza Cooper: What a wonderful place to grab a cup of coffee and enjoy with a delicious desert or sandwich. Their decor is lovely. We went for a special Comedy night held by the Armed Services ARTS Partnership! The barista on duty did an amazing job of not only cleaning up for the nite, but set up the food and refreshments flawlessly. She made sure my 7 year old granddaughter was comfortable and well fed. I will be back. Love the idea of empowering Vets! And teaching them business skills to succeed after their service ! Great job Dog Tag Bakery!
Response: Thank you for your review and for supporting our mission! So glad you were able to attend one of ASAP's events as well - what a great organization!

8. Fran's Cake & Candy Supplies

LEAVE AN OPINION
178 reviews
Fran's Cake & Candy Supplies
Location
4.8
Price
4.7
Class
4.7
Facilities
4.7
Teachers
4.7

Address: 10927 Main St, Fairfax, VA 22030, United States

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 10AM

Telephone: +1 703-352-1471

Guy: Baking Supply Shop



Near Fran's Cake & Candy Supplies:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Fran's Cake & Candy Supplies: what do users think?


X: I have zero decorating experience but thought it would be fun to try. Chef Dawn taught this layer cake class on buttercream, fresh floral and gold drip. I’d never done piping or icing before but she was encouraging and I left with a pretty good final product. There was 8 in my class, 2 people per table. They provide all the supplies (cake, icing, spatulas, flowers, buttercream, gold, edging tools, etc), you create the product and take it home. Way more advanced classes if that is what you are looking for. They do seem to book out fast, so click all the way on the Event Bright info to make sure they aren’t sold out of the class you want. You get a discount on store products the day of your class. The two store employees (or owner/s?) were helpful and complimentary to us in the class.
Response: We are so glad you enjoyed the cake decorating class with Chef Dawn! Your cake looks amazing! We hope you have an opportunity to join us for another class soon!

Gary Connor: For a baker, this place has to be heaven on earth. Easy to find with plenty of parking, Fran's has every type of baking supply and equipment you can think of and will offer multiple choices. I'm not a baker but I am told the shop has everything you might need. The prices seemed high but if the family baker accompanied me to a DIY store, they would feel the same.

Rochelle Whittall: I buy most of my supplies for cakes from here. I bought some stuff recently and they gave me a wrong product by mistake. I emailed the store to ask for a solution because it was urgent. It was about 1 hour drive so didn’t have a way of going back but a lady named Debbi immediately responded and said she will bring it to me the following day. She delivered it as promised. The store and the staff is great. I highly recommend buying products from here
Response: Hi Rochelle, We appreciate your business and your kind words! I am so sorry we made a mistake with your order. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to fix it for you! We hope the project you are working on is a huge success! Thank you!

Sharon Sacks: If you're looking for stencils, shapes for cake pops, custom colors, and every form of decorating this is the place. They do offer classes such as cake decorating as well. Knowledgeable place and friendly staff. You can go here as a home cook but this is more geared towards people who do this for a living. You will find anything you could possibly need.
Response: Hello Sharon, Thank you so much for the 5-star review!! We are pleased to know you enjoyed everything in our store. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!

Clare Bolton: Frans has EVERYTHING you could possible need. Including cake decorating, cupcakes, cookies, molds. The employees walked up to me and asked if I needed help politely. Very amazing and was like a bakers heaven. Excited to come back!!
Response: Hello Clare, Thank you so much for the 5-star review!! We are happy to her you loved our store! I will make sure to pass the good compliments to our amazing staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you!

Alicia Lamb-Moody: I love this store! They know me by name now, lol.All of the employees are always kind and helpful. I can always find just about everything I need for whatever I want to bake next. I especially love the variety of cookie cutters and chocolate/candy molds. Plus, I love the fact that it's not a chain store.
Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! And, THANK YOU, for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We love helping with and seeing all of your awesome projects!

surabhi jain: One of the best stores in NoVa for cake supplies. What makes it stand out is the service. Shoutout to Nick who guided us very well. Very nice experience overall
Response: Hello Surabhi Thank you so much for you 5-Star review!! We are pleased to hear you liked our store and our staff! I will make sure to pass the good compliment along to Nick. Thank you! Hope to see you soon.

Ruth Vallejos: This store is amazing for all you need for baking, they got it, very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely going back every month. Love it.
Response: Thank you for your kind words! We love having an opportunity to help with your projects and can't wait to see what you create!

Cassi Townes: Just wanted to give a special shout-out to Nick for going above and beyond to get my items packed and shipped within 10 minutes while UPS was at the store. Got my items next day (today)!!
Response: Hello Cassi Thank you for the 5-star review! We are happy to help you with your orders. I will let Nick know about your kind words. We hope to help you again soon! Thank you!

Corrie M: I love Frans! So glad to have a bake supply shop in the area. Always well stocked and there is always someone willing to help you find something. Plus, they have a rewards program so you get even more when you buy from them!
Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy we can help with your projects!