Best Ice Skating Rink In Washington Near Me

Who has selected these businesses:
Karla Zimmerman
@karlazimmerman
Author and references

Sort by:
Relevance
Add my business

1. The Wharf Ice Rink

LEAVE AN OPINION
40 reviews
The Wharf Ice Rink
Facilities
5
Services
5
Prices
5
Parking
5
Wifi
5

Address: 970 Wharf St SW, Washington, DC 20024

Schedule: Temporarily closed

Telephone: (202) 317-9643

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Probably one of the most beautiful rinks in DC."

There are no offers available.


Near The Wharf Ice Rink:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

The Wharf Ice Rink: what do users think?


Austin Graff: There are a handful of ice rinks in Washington, D.C.- this one, Canal Park, Georgetown Waterfront and National Gallery of Art's Sculpture Garden. We've been to all three and here's how this one ranks: 1) Views: Compared to the others, this one offers beautiful views of the waterfront and the Washington Monument peeking out from the buildings. The Sculpture Garden's rink has a stunning view of the National Archives, but this one is even more stunning, especially with the holiday decorations. 2) Price: This one is $15-$18 per person for admission and skate rentals. $6 for a "helper" for kids. (Sculpture Garden is $14-$15, Georgetown is $16-$17 and Canal Park is $15-$16 per person.) 3) Amenities: There are public restrooms onsite and plenty of dining options nearby, including a s'more trailer with a fire pit. For hot chocolate, several options exist, but we enjoyed the thick hot chocolate from Praline Bakery near the Canopy.

Ghenet L: Very expensive. 60$ for 1 adult and 3 kids plus skate rentals. Rink is small. Nice ambiance though. Beautiful place for photos. I like that you're not given only a few hours to skate, you get to stay as long as you want.

James Walker: Open for skating from Wednesday through Sunday, admission fee required, with a discount offered for military and seniors. A special day and time is reserved for the sport of Curling. Located on Wharf Street Southwest between the Anthem and the Transit Pier.

Matthew Henry: Probably one of the most beautiful rinks in DC. You can hear the geese and birds, see the water and smell the food. Very enjoyable place.

Matthew Rusch: It was super fun for me and my family. The cost was about the same as other ice rinks and you can skate for a long time if you want to. It had a great atmosphere right on the water and the staff was super helpful. It is a little smaller than a regulation ice rink for hocky, but not to bad.

Jenny Koss: I went with friends on Dec. 8th and it was fantastic! The staff are quite nice, and since it's a new rink, not many people are aware of it (yet!) The price is great, $10 for all you can skate, (+ $6 if you're renting skates) and the rink is right on the water. I can't wait to return!

Corey Hinkle: Really enjoyed their free curling lesson, the woman leading was awesome, even after folks accidently hit her with a rock. The ice was decently maintained for our event and folks around we're friendly.

Korren Golden: Fun little ice rink. Watch out if it gets windy though.They're always doing fun events here too.

Stefano Negri: Pretty bad treatment for my 3 kids last year - good to see it is open for review now so that I can say this They made us pay in full for 15 minutes after having told us we would have a full hour. Felt cheated and there was not even an apology, let alone a reimbursement. Not going back.

M: It was a beautiful little rink with string lights hanging overhead and water surrounding it. I give 3 stars because it was a little pricey. $38 for 2 people.

2. Fort Dupont Ice Arena

LEAVE AN OPINION
124 reviews
Fort Dupont Ice Arena
Facilities
5
Services
5
Prices
5
Parking
5
Wifi
5

Address: 3779 Ely Pl SE, Washington, DC 20019

Schedule: Closed ⋅ Opens 9AM Thu

Telephone: (202) 584-5007

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Love this rink and the classes, plus open skate."

There are no offers available.


Near Fort Dupont Ice Arena:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Fort Dupont Ice Arena: what do users think?


Darian Smith: What family had a great time in this ice skating rink. The price of the rental skates are very affordable. The skating rink is a nice size plenty of space to sit in the bleachers and watch people skate or sit down and change your shoes you will have a great time there

Austin Graff: Fort Dupont Ice Arena is Washington's best kept secret. It's the only indoor ice skating rink in the city of Washington, D.C. It's not Metro accessible, explaining why many people don't know about it, but there is a large free parking lot next door as well as a Capital Bikeshare dock. The space itself is clearly built in a different era, but they have maintained it well for not having a lot of funding. A non-profit runs the arena and it is mainly used for non-profit programming for youth who ice skate. However, they keep the ice rink open every day from 9am-4pm and rentals are affordable ($5 for adults and $4 for seniors and youth). If you're looking for a fun, family activity in DC, check the Ice Arena out. It's such a fun thing to do!

Maggie Bowman: Cool rink. Great views of the capital building and Washington monument from the front door and parking area. I've was good. Stands were warm.

Mary O'Brien: Fort Dupont is a wonderful place to skate! It is an extremely welcoming environment and there are good, clean rentals available. Overall, I highly recommend.

I SLAY ALL DAY TRAVEL The Solo Traveler: Perfect place! It’s hidden gem nestled away in Washington, D.C.

NUALA OLEARY: Needs updating. Across a parking lit from a beautiful baseball facility sponsored by the Washington Nationals. It would be wonderful to have an updated rink sponsored by the Washington Capitals.

Jennifer Jay: If you grew up with rinks built in the 80s/early 90s this place will feel like coming home. Yes it’s dated but that’s part of the charm and they are breaking ground on a new rink soon so enjoy it while you can. They offer free learn to skate to DC residents in 2nd thru 12th grade, it’s a rink you can feel good about spending your money at. The giant windows and natural light make this rink even more special, fabulous skating under the sunset glow.

Greg Pryzby: great resource. if you live in DC there are free classes on Saturday.

John H.: I love it. It's not the newest, but it's clearly loved. Well-priced and friendly, this is a great little spot, especially when compared to some of the fancy new things. I grew up playing hockey in a small town and the rink felt like going home. Plus, it has windows down one whole side, so it doesn't feel like you're trapped in a metal shipping crate

Ms. DC: Now this Ice Skating Rink brings back memories I remember my friends and I.would hook school and hang out here. We.use to like to watch the hockey players while school were in session. Until they caught on we were hooking school then they stopped letting us in or we would meet up there and go to the movies.

3. Canal Park Outdoor Ice Skating & Splash Park

LEAVE AN OPINION
76 reviews
Canal Park Outdoor Ice Skating & Splash Park
Facilities
5
Services
5
Prices
5
Parking
5
Wifi
5

Address: 200 M St SE, Washington, DC 20003

Telephone: (202) 850-0859

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "My some enjoy skating in this rink."

There are no offers available.


Near Canal Park Outdoor Ice Skating & Splash Park:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Canal Park Outdoor Ice Skating & Splash Park: what do users think?


Austin Graff: Skating by a pizzeria, a sushi place and a gelato shop is a dream. Located in Navy Yard's Canal Park, this ice skating rink is open November through February every single day, including Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Here's what you need to know: 1) Price: Online reservations are required. Admission is $10-$11 and skate rentals are $5. The price seems to be on par or a little cheaper than other D.C. ice skating rinks. 2) Size: It's a little smaller than others, but they make good use of the space. There's one larger open area and smaller passage ways on either end that go by sculptures and Christmas trees and a menorah. We went on a December Saturday evening and although it was full, it didn't seem crowded. 3) Amenities: It's nice to be right next to Wiseguy Pizza, Khin Sushi and Altani Gelato. It makes for an easy evening of fun with kids- skating, dinner and dessert. The poke bowl at Khin's is surprisingly delicious. Inside the area with the restaurants are public restrooms. Being inside Canal Park, there's open grass and a green roof with a lit-up cube as art. 4) Parking: You can usually find street parking, but nearby is Lot F where parking costs $1 an hour- a steal in an expensive city like D.C. 5) Neighborhood: It's in Navy Yard near the Anacostia River and close to lots of restaurants, bars and a Whole Foods and Harris Teeter. Yards Park is close by with lots to do and see.

E P: Great place to skate, parking was easy when we went (Sunday late afternoon), but I can see how it could be an issue in busier times. Rink is well maintained, and you can rent skates if you need. Great area for coffee or restaurants around.
Response: EP, thank you for your review and rating. Parking is always available in the vicinity of the rink. These ratings mean a lot to the staff to see returns on their efforts. Thanks for your visit skating with us. Best, Lance

Kelsey Elle: This place seems like it would be fun but it’s actually extremely dangerous. It’s too crowded for how often they cut the ice and as a result the ice is extremely rough and in poor condition. What makes it even more dangerous is that the rental skate blades are not adequately sharpened. Skating on rough ice with dull skates is a recipe for disaster even for an experienced skater. I have skated my entire life and was a competitive figure skater and even I felt unsafe skating here. We saw many people get injured during the hour that we were there, including a member of our group. If you have your own skates it would probably be okay, but on the whole I was very troubled by what I encountered here, and the disregard for safety.

John Griffis: Very Fun! Skates in fairly good condition for a rental. Ice maintained pretty good for an outdoor rink in 50° weather too. All in all it was a fun time.

Danial Gebreili: The ice-skating experience at this location is fantastic. The skate rentals are pretty decent and properly maintained. Overall, the staff are friendly, prices are reasonable, and it is not crowded making for a fun experience with friends, couples, or family.

A R: Really fun! We went on a Monday evening and it was fairly quiet with only about a dozen other people there. There is a lot of space to skate and a fun little passage to skate through too! Highly recommend

Sean Shechtman: Cool rink shaped like a figure 8. Also good pizza, hot chocolate and coffee. Great place for kids because it has outdoor rink with indoor food/beverage when you are cold.

Joshua Otero: Took some of my wife's family from colombia to ice skate for the first time and they loved it. Plus it has a nice open feel.

Nadine De williaams: Fun spot. Not crowded. Had a cafeteria to grab some snacks. 2 hours for $15 including the skates.

Timothy Albright: The rink staff are very approachable and were willing to assist my child in his first time skating, last year. The shape of the rink allows for more enjoyable experience, compared to a conventional ice rink. The pizza place is a warm place to sit when the Zamboni is on the ice, but there are many other good food locations nearby. Since the change in management, my family has purchased season passes yearly. Great winter spot!

4. National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden Ice Rink

LEAVE AN OPINION
8 reviews
National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden Ice Rink
Facilities
5
Services
5
Prices
5
Parking
5
Wifi
5

Address: Constitution Ave NW &, 7th St NW, Washington, DC 20408

Schedule: Closes soon ⋅ 9PM ⋅ Opens 11AM Thu

Telephone: (202) 216-9397

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Also, they seem to run out of lockers so keep that in mind."

There are no offers available.


Near National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden Ice Rink:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden Ice Rink: what do users think?


Yumi Nelson: Definitely worth a visit! The rink is pretty small, but we didn't have to wait to start skating on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. Also, they seem to run out of lockers so keep that in mind. Probably the most scenic option for skating around DC, surrounded by the sculpture garden and Smithsonian's etc. Another plus - the beer etc sold at the sculpture garden pavilion is well below average cost of a drink in DC!

CB: Cute rink but bad customer service and inaccurate hours of operation. The rink “sells out” of skates very quickly and stops renting out skates (when stocked) at around 7PM. Unless you plan to go as soon they open or you decide to wait an unknown period of time, you likely will not be able to enter. I have tried to go on two different occasions within a few days, hours before closing, and was refused entry/rental both times. We ran into several other people while leaving who experienced the same. In previous years, this rink was great, but they are not operating their best since the pandemic began. Would advise going to Georgetown rink instead

M Munoz: The only time I was able to skate at this rink was when I went around opening time, at 11AM. That’s the only reason I am rating one star. Any other time at night, I was turned away on multiple occasions. They always say that they’re sold out even if I’m there hours before their listed times. Misleading and unprofessional, especially since skaters were leaving as I had requested for a rental AND the person directly in front of me was able to get skates. There’s no structure or consistency in this rink’s operation. Save yourself the trip and go elsewhere!

Kate Bellows: I went here a few weeks ago, and we had so much fun! Very busy, so if you can go in the middle of the day during the weekday, that’s for the best. And pack light, because it’s hard to avoid not getting a locker unless you just want to leave your stuff out.

5. Pentagon Row Outdoor Ice Skating

LEAVE AN OPINION
120 reviews
Pentagon Row Outdoor Ice Skating
Facilities
4.2
Services
4.3
Prices
4.2
Parking
4.2
Wifi
4.2

Address: 1201 S Joyce St, Arlington, VA 22202

Telephone: (703) 418-6666

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "A little ice skating rink with skate rentals and adjacent restaurants."

There are no offers available.


Near Pentagon Row Outdoor Ice Skating:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Pentagon Row Outdoor Ice Skating: what do users think?


Emilie K: I’ve gone ice skating here six times now, it’s such a great time! The staff is nice. It rink isn’t exactly large, but fun place to go for an hour or so! Decorated nice around Christmas time

Kaeleigh Green: Not a bad experience overall! I enjoyed my time. I will say that with the required reservations I expected a lot less people on the ice. Also watched the Zamboni break and snow and water pile onto the ice tonight, using up even more of our time slot. The worst part though is the fact that they don't have lockers! I didn't like leaving my shoes under a random bench and having to skate with my purse on. Very odd. Again, enjoyed the skating experience in general. Great location, awesome outdoor rink.

Kel Millionie: A little ice skating rink with skate rentals and adjacent restaurants. Ice is well maintained and the timed tickets didn’t make the rink over crowded.

Stéphane Le Cam: After trying multiple ice rinks in the DMV area this year, this one is by far my favorite. The ice is maintained and cleaned every hour, the staff has always been helpful and friendly, the area is well situated for both Pentagon City Mall along with restaurants right around the rink, decorations in the wintertime is beautiful and they have a huge space with benches and tables within the premises that gives room for many to sit down and enjoy watching your accompanied friends/family skate. I bring my own skates so I don't know how well their rentals are but I do know they rent the hard plastic blue skates and I am sure they can improve on that soon, since many ice skating rinks have switched to a different brand, which are a lot more comfortable. Overall, it is highly recommended. ❄️

Maritza Cooper: What a lovely setting for this outdoor activity. Pentagon Row is a wonderful space to to have an outdoor rink. Lots of restaurants, shopping and people watching. The staff at the rink are fabulous. Ethan, both Olivias, Cartrell and Julian were FABULOUS as usual. Been here numerous times and its always a pleasure. They keep a watchful eye out and are vigilant in their duties. Bring Gloves, warm clothes, long socks and a fun attitude. Be sure to tighten the skates around the ankles to avoid injury. Lots of newbies on the ice, so try not to run them over. Most important of all.... HAVE FUN!
Response: Hi Maritza, Wow! Thank you for the awesome review! We will pass your kind words along to Ethan, Cartrell, Julian and both Olivias. They are incredible employees and we are lucky to have them! We are so glad that you had a great experience at our rink, the staff works hard to make every visit a 5 star experience. Thank you again for the great feedback and pictures, we hope to see you again soon! Best, Bryton

Nathalia Morales: It's a nice place to sit, eat and relax. You have options to shop there like Tjmaxx and DSW, and more shops inside the mall. The ice skating ring is open. I don't know the cost if you rent the skates. People wear masks on the ice ring. I went with my friend and we had a great time together around the area.

Johnny McMurran: Great place for kids. Staff is friendly and helpful. They are always watching out for people that fall and they help them up. Prices are pretty good too. 28 dollars for skate rental and skating for 2 people. Overall I highly recommend if you're looking for an outdoor skating rink.
Response: Johnny, thank you for your feedback and your rating. The staff will be very excited to see your your feedback, they want everyone to have a similar five-star experience. Best, Lance

Julie S: Really great outdoor ice rink. Easy parking/access despite the fact you are in Arlington. Cheap parking garage underground ($4 bucks for 2+ hours on a Sunday). Only reason why not five stars is the skate rentals. My skates had ripped cushion under the tongue and one skate had a thick shoelace that barely tied and the other skate had what looked like a dog chew shredded rope. Nasty. Same with my 5 year old's skates. Just nasty, busted up and to pay $30 for one adult and one youth to skate and rent skates for one hour, they were unacceptable. We had to trade in because one "lace" wouldn't even tie it was so frayed and grey... Also, it would be nice if they played music. Otherwise, it's a truly lovely outdoor rink and atmosphere!
Response: Hi Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review! We are sorry to hear about your experience with our skates. We are one of the few rinks in the area that sharpen and inspect our skates weekly. We have implemented a new inspection process for our skates so that the chance of this happening again is very slim. If you ever do receive a pair of skates that you are not satisfied with the staff will gladly switch them out for you. We do play music! We use a system which allows our customers to select songs they would like to hear (family friendly of course) Via their smartphone. Again thank you for all of the great feedback and we would like to make your next visit a 5-star experience. Best, Bryton

Katherine Smith: Easily 2-3x the number of people allowed on than should be for such a small rink. ROUGH ice from all the people on it. I've never had a problem staying balanced skating as an adult, but I actually fell here bc of how rough the ice was. Ambiance is very nice though.
Response: Hi Katherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, December is our busiest month of the season, we are the largest outdoor rink in NOVA and second-largest in Virginia. With COVID restrictions we are operating below 30% of Capacity with an outdoor skate shop and sanitizing all of our skates and touch points. Crowds tend to slim down later in the season in February/ March. The ice can get choppy when we are sold out so we do resurface at the top of the hour every hour. If you are ever uncomfortable with the crowd size/ skating conditions please ask to speak to the manger on duty and we will make it right. We want all of our guests to have a 5 star experience. Best, Bryton

Jennifer Stehle: It may have just been the time of day we went, but there were many children on the ice without supervision, skating across the rink or in the opposite direction of the group. There was no staff on the ice making sure the rink was safe for guests either. This is very dangerous. Skating is always "at your own risk", but many rinks take their rules seriously and ensure their guests are safe.

6. MedStar Capitals Iceplex

LEAVE AN OPINION
175 reviews
MedStar Capitals Iceplex
Facilities
4.4
Services
4.4
Prices
4.5
Parking
4.4
Wifi
4.4

Address: 627 N Glebe Rd SUITE 800, Arlington, VA 22203

Schedule: Open ⋅ Closes 9:30PM

Telephone: (571) 224-0555

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Average ice rink but strange free skate time"

There are no offers available.


Near MedStar Capitals Iceplex:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

MedStar Capitals Iceplex: what do users think?


matthew doherty: Great venue! They host Caps practice and numerous other ice related sports like synchronized, figure, and recreational skating. Parking is reasonable in the garage at just a buck for 3 hours. As of this post there's construction taking place in the complex but doesn't negatively impede the experience. Should be even better when completed.

Andrea Cox: Been skating at Kettler for years. Med Star takes over and decreases the public skate time by a 1/3 while doubling the price. They also make you jump through hoops by creating an online portal and signing your life away just to come skate for an hour on Saturday night. RIDICULOUS!!!

Anthony Alatis: Great to be able to watch practice. Leaving the parking lot took 10 minutes with only one attendant in 1 of the 6 payment lanes.

Jacques Bertrand: Very nice locker rooms, good ice as well. Only complaint is that the game usually have to be curfewed. I think they should have reserved spot for referees, so they will be more enticed to come.

Vaibhav Gupta: Great place to ice-skate. The staff is really friendly. And if lucky, you can catch the caps practicing here. We had a great time here.

Todd Berman: Aside from the 8 stories of winding parking garage - there is much to like at Kettler. Skate rentals, food concession and of course, the Stanley Cup Champions home practice ice. Come for a relaxing skate session or to see the Caps practice. Convenient to Metro and parking is a bargain!

Bill Rizzo: Two rinks, for hockey on Friday nights. The Arlington Rink is better for spectators as you can sit in "box-like" seats and watch the game. Parking is a buck for three hours! Pay before you leave or use a credit card at check out booth.

Alyx Barnes: My son and I both skate at Med Star Caps Iceplex as part of the figure skating program. The rink takes significant precautions both on occupancy and cleaning protocols to keep skaters and staff safe. In this time of the pandemic, masks are also mandatory on the figure skating rink and in the facility overall. Hours for figure skating are somewhat reduced most Fall/Winters due to the Caps need for the ice, but if early mornings work for you, there is generally ice time to reserve. Reservations are made via the OpenSports or Dash apps. Classes and individual lessons are available. My son completed the Basic skating lesson series here and now does Sky High for more advanced figure skaters. He also participated in some of the Summer figure skating camps, which are offered for various ability level skaters. He has really enjoyed his skating journey so far and this is largely due to the wonderful coaches (Mary Clamp and Connor Tasker, to name two) and fellow skaters on the ice with him. This is our go-to rink in the area. Great people and well maintained facility.

Tommy Stavrev: Here I'm sitting outside while my son plays his hockey game in there. Only one parent per child allowed even though there is plenty of space for social distancing. This is supposed to be responsible management? Never had the chance to attend any of my boy's games, and now that I'm here finally, I can't get in.

Anna Shumaker: My review is based on the public skating. The facility is clean and well maintained. However, the skate guards are not very friendly or helpful. They mostly skate around ignoring everyone else. As an obvious beginner, I would have appreciated being asked if I needed any help, some tips and tricks, or at the very least a greeting. The atmosphere was not very welcoming. I felt like an inconvenience rather than a guest who paid money to be here.

7. Wheaton Ice Arena

LEAVE AN OPINION
252 reviews
Wheaton Ice Arena
Facilities
4.5
Services
4.4
Prices
4.4
Parking
4.4
Wifi
4.4

Address: 11717 Orebaugh Ave, Wheaton, MD 20902

Schedule: Open ⋅ Closes 11PM

Telephone: (301) 905-3000

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Best Ice Rink for skating in the DC area"

There are no offers available.


Near Wheaton Ice Arena:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Wheaton Ice Arena: what do users think?


Andrew O: Great place to ice skate year-round. There are several public skating sessions per week and they offer beginner and advanced classes for kids, teens, and adults. The teachers are excellent and many participate in one on one sessions outside of class as well.

Oofio2461 (oofio2461): I don't actually skate here due to reasons I'm not going in detail about, but my sister said that this place has very smooth, would ice to skate in. There is a mini Gym in there and enjoyed exercising there, do keep in mind that you have to pay 5 dollars in order to access it. I enjoy the loving staff and everyone here always have smiles on their faces. I would give this place more than 5 stars if I could. Best Ice arena in the DMV.

Andrea Silver: Came skating with my family on Saturday and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was all smiles, friendly and seemed to be enjoying their jobs. Having no idea about skate sizes, we wound up exchanging skates three times before finding some we could get our feet into( thanks Zane and Aliana!). Then we needed help tying them and Heather helped us with that. Loved the atmosphere- felt like a family run rink and it was obvious that everyone was having a good time. Kudos to management.

Gabriel Gualteros: Good place to take family or adults for indoor ice skating...clean a good value and lots of fun.Can get busy plenty of parking....wear a helmet!

lovelyslyons: So patient with my lil one which was her 1st time. Loved that they treated us with such kindness and answered question before I got there on the phone and when I got there in person.

Y Fessehaye: Great place for lessons and fun! Love it

Joel Seppala: If you're looking to simply lace up and skate without hassle, this is a good place to go. The rental skates are in good condition and everyone was courteous and well-behaved. Training equipment is available for rent for those learning to skate. Good place to expose kids to ice skating.

Philip Raskin: Signed my daughter up for skating classes here. It's not how I remember it. For one, it's not in the same location and gone is the funk of dirty socks (and worse!). This is a very clean rink with kind and caring staff. It's not as busy as Cabin John and I think the ice surface is better. All of this makes for a more enjoyable experience than visiting Cabin John.

f m: Covid-19 protocols not being followed by the rink staff. No identifiable skate guard on the ice. When I combined about no guard, I was told there was one, but no one was wearing a guard jacket, and the person I was told was the guard, was just skating around fast ignoring the people who fell, the people texting while skating, the kids sprint racing each other, the kid throwing his hockey glove around on the ice, the kids tossing snowballs, the kids climbing over the wall to the team box, or even keeping people from sitting in the team boxes - keeping people out of the boxes is part of the covid-19 protocols. The check-in desk had people crowded close together, as there was really nowhere for a line besides outside of the door, and you know most people just don't care if they spread or catch illnesses.
Response: FM - we are sorry that you had a less than excellent experience. If you'd like to reach out to our management staff we would be glad to discuss your recent visit. Feel free to contact Melanie Huggings via email melanie.huggins@montgomeryparks.org or phone 240-818-2248. Sincerely, Wheaton Ice Arena

Michael J. Ferreira: The more I go here, the more it feels like family. The staff is courteous and positive. Classes are excellent. The only concern I have is that a class begins at the same time the previous class ends. If there are any hiccups and a 30-minute class may lose 20% of class time. This, however, does not outweigh the benefits at all. Great place to go!

8. Tucker Road Ice Rink

LEAVE AN OPINION
70 reviews
Tucker Road Ice Rink
Facilities
4.6
Services
4.7
Prices
4.6
Parking
4.6
Wifi
4.6

Address: 1770 Tucker Rd, Fort Washington, MD 20744

Schedule: Open ⋅ Closes 10PM

Telephone: (301) 265-1525

Guy: Community center


Review: "Love the new ice rink!"

There are no offers available.


Near Tucker Road Ice Rink:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Tucker Road Ice Rink: what do users think?


Lucky Lucci: I took my 4yr old on a Saturday evening. When we got there,I guess a group had it rented out for a certain amount of time. I got there an hour or so before they would leave. Went to grab a bite to eat and came back... the folks that were there that day were so cool. Got us on the ice in minutes. Took me longer to lace up then anything else. I have to mention the fact that we got there before any of the public arrived, so it was still relatively empty. The rink gradually filled up as we were there. We were fortunate not to be amidst the rush. The facility is clean and spacious. Friendly staff and the vibe was cool. They have the training rails for the kids to skate with. I actually saw adults making them work as well lol. Price wise I thought it was reason for for a quick evening outing with the squad. I'm going back.

Aiden Thompson: This place is great. The "saver" skate option is only like 7 dollars and it includes rental skates and 2 hours of skating. This place is often not busy and the facility is very nice. It has a nice place to watch the skating in the warm, perfect for parents.

harriet Portillo: Great place to get reconnect to your life to think pray,talk to yourself meet people, and most of all a great place for family

Vanessa Lyde: Great place to take family. So much fun. Atmosphere good and clean. Parking 👍.

Clarice Allen: it's soooo nice and open now. very clean. the staff is very friendly and professional. I have only visited once so far since they remodeled but so far so great!!

Chris Upham: The Tucker Road Ice Rink is a gorgeous, new facility that is an absolute pleasure to play in!

Beautiful Star: I loved it. The place is very clean and is not crowded at all. The lady in the front desk is not very friendly but once you pass her, your fine...

george love: Is it very nice community center I'll be back to see the ice rink soon the community is very beautiful the grass is very cut and it's very clean inside and outside

June Bulldix: Great walking trail for the brief walk I needed.

Edwina Gray: My family loves this place!Place: cleanStaff: great

9. Silver Spring Outdoor Ice Skating Rink

LEAVE AN OPINION
102 reviews
Silver Spring Outdoor Ice Skating Rink
Facilities
4.3
Services
4.3
Prices
4.4
Parking
4.3
Wifi
4.3

Address: 8523 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 20910

Schedule: Open ⋅ Closes 10PM

Telephone: (301) 588-1221

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Last night for outdoor skate this season and rink is lovely!"

There are no offers available.


Near Silver Spring Outdoor Ice Skating Rink:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Silver Spring Outdoor Ice Skating Rink: what do users think?


Jasmin Adease: We were years ago and it was great. This year was terrible. We rented skates and they were either patched up so you couldn't tie them very fast or they were not properly sharp. They gave me a new pair but those blades weren't sharp either. They have to have a certain edge for you to be able to push yourself off without losing balance. Even my old pair lasted for years without having to get them sharpened. They must really not maintain those skates. I advise you bring your own skates.

Jack Reacher: Ice is patchy as hell and they clean it very rarely. Customer service is also lacking. The guy I was talking to literally left me hanging mid-conversation. If you’ve got kids, don’t do it as well — a kid fell and was audibly crying because he hurt himself. In other places there’s usually an employee on the ice to tend to these situations, but they had no one on the ice. There was an employee on the outside and he watched the kid cry for a while before he decided to intervene after all the guests stopped skating to check. Seriously, save your money.

Christian Mukete: I got here all the time during winter, sometimes crowded, sometimes not. But overall love place and they’re restaurants nearby and a whole imax theater so this is perfect

Karen Lopez: Small rink and tends to be crowded but always a fun time. Great for people of all ages! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Cristofer Jhons: Came with my sister yesterday and it was so much fun. Staff was extremely friendly and the prices are pretty cheap. We enjoyed it so much we'll definitely be back. I also like the skates this place rents out compared to others, the ones here are padded so they don't cut into the back of you foot which allows you to skate longer. All around an excellent place to go with friends or family. 😊

solosian: Went yesterday and it's a decent ice rink. Prices aren't bad for adults. However, after 5pm it got pretty busy which definitely overcrowded this small rink. Additionally, I don't know how often the Zamboni gets used but the ice was getting very chopped up and was far from smooth. I'd recommend this place during the day when folks are at work, and I'd hope the staff would more regularly smooth the ice.

Tina J Baby: Me and my Daughters had fun it was their first time going they really like ice skating! We enjoyed our selves! But only thing they need more Penguin guards for the kid's but other than that me and my family will be going again.

Kaylin Hunzicker: Fun if you’re a kid sure, but if you’re older actually trying to skate get ready to spend your entire time avoiding children pushing penguins. They go fast as hell and can’t stop and you have a 9/10 chance of wiping one out. I’ve seen it. Other than that the rink is also pretty small (which makes avoiding the penguin children even harder) but overall it’s alright. Little on the expensive side.

PnC: Company makes it hard to book a large group. You can only purchase 2 tickets at a time. Person on the phone could not tell me how many openings they have for a slot and said I have to use the website. Trying to book for 8 people. What happens if I book 6 people and then there's no room for the last 2?
Response: PnC, We wish you would reconsider your review as we are following the directions of the County Health Department to keep things as safe as possible. Please understand that there are limitations for your safety and the safety of everyone. The reservation system is designed to keep people from being in groups and we do not have the ability to change or control what is available. It is not our desire to make things hard, but we do strive to make things as safe as we can for everyone. Please plan ahead to make reservations as far in advance for the best availability, you can book two weeks in advance. Best, Lance

Erin McGuire: Last night for outdoor skate this season and rink is lovely!

10. Fairfax Ice Arena

LEAVE AN OPINION
165 reviews
Fairfax Ice Arena
Facilities
4
Services
3.9
Prices
3.9
Parking
3.9
Wifi
3.9

Address: 3779 Pickett Road, Fairfax, VA 22031

Telephone: (703) 323-1132

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Great rink if you're a figure skater."

There are no offers available.


Near Fairfax Ice Arena:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Fairfax Ice Arena: what do users think?


Opsec Classified: Great time for and with the shorties. Kids had a blast. Skate rental was a breeze and had everything you need their to keep the shorties happy...soda, drinks, food.

Jack jack: Excellent customer service. I highly recommend coming here to buy ice skates! We were about to buy ice skates from another location but we came here because we heard about their excellent customer service. They did not disappoint. Their customer service exceeded expectation. They were very patient and pro active. They took the time to measure feet and ask questions to determine the best pair of ice skates. They even put together the blade protector. The level of care and concern they showed towards making sure we bought the right pair of ice skates was awesome! We will definitely be back and will probably sign up for lessons at some point.

Yulia Evseeva: Bad ice, dirty, and useless staff. Very dirty, everywhere! Immediately as you enter, an unpleasant smell is felt. The ice is of a poor quality, it seems to be straightened with the help of a special machine, but this does not help to get rid of the holes in the ice. There are lockers, but they are one-time-use, you cannot use them many times in one period, or rather you can, but for extra money, they close for 2 quarters, and every time if you need to take something and close, you need to make sure that you have coins. Rent skates are stink very strongly, here you will NOT be given shoe covers that you must wear before putting on your rental skate and they will not process the skates afterwards. Disgusting. They do not have a support for children, racks on which children who do not yet know how to ride can lean on. On the ice, there are staff who seem to be supposed to manage the process and help people if they need help, but there were two guys who were rolling in a circle and talking to each other, not paying attention to the visitors. I did not find anywhere information and at the checkout I was also not warned that I could not go on the ice in my shoes to help my child learn to skate (I myself do not stand well on the skates). There is a manager who was hired to say one phrase "we have such rules, rules are rules"

Brooke :p: Amazing ice arena! Is always clean workers and super nice! I come here for ice skating and all teachers are amazing! There is also a food cafe with amazing food! Sometimes a little crowded but amazing ice skating but rank and skate patrols skate around the rank to see if everyone is ok and not falling 100% recommend this ice arena

Theresa Zemelman: I needed a place to hold a birthday party at the last minute. Not only were they available, but they were more than reasonably priced, and the rink is very well kept. Food and drink prices were reasonable as well. The party room is not amazing, but the kids spent very little time there, and tablecloths, plates, napkins, and cutlery were all provided. It was also nice to have space for everyone to put their skates on together inside the party room. We were able to bring our own decorations to spruce it up a bit. I'm very pleased with our experience!

Animal King: I went for the 4th time trying to give this place a chance, but its a very dirty rink. Second you walk in it smells like sweat and trash. Rink has massive holes to the point you trip. They cut the ice ONE TIME in the morning for stick and puck. One time I felt I was skating on actual snow. The locker rooms smell horrible, they dont supply pucks, and only two goalies free. Other rinks dont charge for any goalie. Furthermore the pro shop is never open, we need to sharpen our skates too. Overall, the place has potential but at the moment its not good. Will not be returning.

Noah Kim: If you’re an entry level skater, it’s a decent place. For literally anyone else, it’s not worth it. It’s an old rink that is questionably maintained, ice is of lower quality, has a moldy smell at times and limited facilities. With Kettler, Reston, Prince William, Fort Dupont, St.James. There is very little reason to come here over the superior options in the area.

Gregory Lynch: They still have a strict mask policy for people who are by themselves and not around anyone else. I was kicked out for that reason. The hockey players and the refs don’t have to wear masks even though they’re the ones not social distancing. It’s a shame, I liked this place but illogical policies like this make it hard to support.

Ryan Dodd: The place is pretty run down but I had a ton of fun going to a free skate session in a Wednesday night. I used their skates and it was not too crowded. The ice was kinda rough.

Trisha Hurlburt Robertson: Only my 2nd time here, and it's very reasonable, price-wise. I have also only been here during holidays--weekend after Thanksgiving and 3 days after Christmas--so I shouldn't judge the crowds based on this. Having said that... My first time was ludicrous. It was so crowded that you constantly had to swerve and weave for groups stopped on the ice, less-experienced skaters, people who thought they were better skaters than they were, and the zoomers. It was also super treacherous getting on and off the ice because throngs of people just stood at the entrances. Today was better, but I still wish they assigned designated times to skate to control traffic on the ice. And again, maybe they do when it's not the holidays so I'll just see what happens. Parking is pretty easy and there's plenty when it's not super crowded. Haven't tried the food there, so can't say anything about the quality, but again, prices seem reasonable.

11. Herbert Wells Ice Rink

LEAVE AN OPINION
149 reviews
Herbert Wells Ice Rink
Facilities
4.3
Services
4.4
Prices
4.3
Parking
4.3
Wifi
4.3

Address: 5211 Campus Dr, College Park, MD 20740

Schedule: Closes soon ⋅ 9PM ⋅ Opens 10AM Thu

Telephone: (301) 277-3717

Guy: Ice skating rink


Review: "Been skating and worked therefor years."

There are no offers available.


Near Herbert Wells Ice Rink:



Are you the owner of the business? PROMOTE IT!

  • Be the 1st in the ranking
  • exclusive page

Herbert Wells Ice Rink: what do users think?


Life with Kyt: It was magical but for a first time skater I thought I could just get up and go skate! My niece got the hang of it though!

Kawaii Rabbits: Website needs to be updated. My local rink is open all year but no public sessions on Wednesdays, so thought I check out Wells. The employees looked at me so crazy because I came to ask if the ice rink was open--the website says the ice rink is open "365" and there are hours listed. Additionally, I wish they wouldve at least mentioned if they still do roller skating here, but the employees seemed generally confused.

Tommy B.: Been skating and worked therefor years. It's been a hot minute since I've been able to get there and it felt like home. They made some upgrades, it looks great!

Donna Hershey: We had lots of fun! Not too crowded and only $4/person Wednesdays 12-2pm

micharoni: not open, waited 30 minutes and no workers showed up ! had at least 30 people waiting and everyone knew they were supposed to be open at 9:30.
Response: Hi Micharoni. Thanks for taking time to review the Herbert Wells Ice Rink. We understand your concern and we apologize for the inconvenience. If you are referring to saturday february 26th, was not possible to offer open skating from 9:30pm. We had been impacted on finding enough staffing to cover and keep the facility open during that time. We will continue working hard to have the appropriate staff to continue offering the best service. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the director at Wendy.Donley@pgparks.com. Thanks.

Taylor Frazier: Great lesson for my 2.5 year old. Her instructors were awesome & even though we missed a few classes, she was able to keep up.

Keith C.: Great place for kids hockey. Unfortunately when we went out warmed outside which caused condensation on the glass making it hard to see.

Steph Y: We had lots of fun. Prices are reasonable. We scored a groupon that included admission and skate rentals for 4 people ($17)! I wish they had those things to help keep your balance. Overall, a nice place for some fun.

Hayden: Though this ice rink is a little old, they've maintained it well. If you are cost sensitive about going out somewhere, this place is perfect for you. This is rink is around $5 per person (And that includes rentals!). It's $3 if you're a student, which is a bonus. This beats all other ice rinks I've been to as it's a third of the cost. The ice is well maintained, and they have times for families, students, and hockey players. Take some time to go skate!

Hm: Good time, no big issues